Public Stand-Up Paddle Championships: Sekar Patchai, Gayatri Emerge Victorious on Day 1

Sekar Patchai and Gayatri won the National Champions of the Men’s and Women’s Technical Race at the Palkbay National Stand-Up Paddle Championships

Sekar Patchai and Gayatri were pronounced the National Champions of the men’s and ladies’ Technical Race (2 KM) on Day 1 of the 2022 Palkbay National Stand-Up Paddle Championships at the beautiful Pirappanvalasai ocean side, here on Thursday.

The first day of the season of the Palkbay National Stand-up Paddling Championships 2022, authorized by the Surfing Federation of India – the overseeing body for the game of surfing and stand-up rowing (SUP), saw more than 60 members in different classifications for men, ladies and groms (U16), doing combating it out for a spot in the finals, in the passing warms.

“It feels better to win, and I sincerely didn’t anticipate winning it among an exceptionally aggressive field, however now that we are here, I should say that it feels incredible to be a National Champion,” Said Gayathri after the success.

In the men’s 200 Mts, National Sprint Race alongside 7-time National Champion Sekar Patchai of Surf Turf, the other people who have equipped for the finals incorporate Anandan and Pavinesh from SUP Marinaa, Manikandan, Santhoshan, Dhinesh Kumar and Dinesh Selvamani from Surf Turf and Rohan from Kudal.

In the Women’s 200 Mts, National Sprint Race Monicka Pugazharasu from SUP Marinaa, Gayatri and Vijayalakshmi from Surf Turf and Saachi from Quest Academy came to the finals that are because of be hung on the last day of the Palkbay National StandUp Paddling Championships 2022.

Seven Time National Champion Sekar Patchai, subsequent to winning the men’s specialized (2KM) race said, “I feel glad to win this, particularly on the grounds that the specialized races are the most difficult all of the time. This race tests your perseverance as well as your specialized ability to move along turns and that makes this success better.”

I anticipate the run race tomorrow and the significant distance race also. The field is extreme and the circumstances testing,” he added.

Sekar completed the men’s 200 Mts Sprint Race qualifying warms on Thursday at the shaft position.

The occasion which will be a piece of the extended Rameswaram SUP-Week, will be held under the aegis of the Surfing Federation of India.

The National Championship is being played across three classes viz; Sprint (200m), Technical (2 km) and Distance (12 km). An open classification race for non-positioning competitors to test their oar strength and speed in the Sprints class of hustling will be played on Friday.

The last Day of the Championships on April 29 will include the Finals for the Sprint (200m), Technical (2 km) and Distance (12 km) races alongside the open classification race for men, ladies and groms.